2021 National Conference

This painting, Near Tempe Downs, My Country by Betty Conway, reflects the local context as in the logo bi-line as well as a favourite past time of Territorians (swimming in local swimming holes). The image is of Tempe Downs, a swath of land South West of Alice Springs which was purchased on behalf of traditional owners in 1993 and is an important land acquisition in the region.

The 2021 National Conference will proceed in a virtual/online format!

After very careful deliberation, and in the context of the ongoing uncertainty of continuing restrictions, border closures and travel limitations extending into next year, the Speech Pathology Australia Board of Directors, with the support of the Conference Planning Committee (CPC), has made the decision to proceed with the 2021 National Conference as a virtual conference only.

This provides everyone with certainty around how they can participate in the program and attend the conference, with a very similar format as we usually have – just with a difference!

The CPC and National Conference Manager have received excellent advice on how a conference such as ours, can successfully run on a virtual platform and we look forward to making this happen. Every support will be provided to presenters and attendees to make this a seamless experience.

Submissions accepted by the Conference Planning Committee will be grouped under nominated themes for presentation at the conference. This will assist delegates to plan attendance at sessions that match their professional needs.

2021 Conference Planning Committee (CPC)

  • Bea Staley – Conference Convenor
  • Rebecca Amery – Scientific Program Chair
  • Franceska (Fran) Edis
  • Amanda O’Keefe
  • Edwina Pursehouse
  • Melissa (Melba) Ridd